Palm Springs sets honorees

From actors to musicians and directors, fest awards best

Breakthrough Performance Award: Mariah Carey
In the role of Mrs. Weiss in Lee Daniels’ “Precious,” Carey remarkably transformed herself from glam diva to straightforward social worker.

Desert Palm Achievement Award: Jeff Bridges
Award was created to honor acting excellence and memorable work throughout the years; Bridges’ perf in “Crazy Heart” is another memorable character from the thesp, first nominated for an Oscar for 1971’s “The Last Picture Show.”

Career Achievement Award: Helen Mirren
Presented for her distinguished body of work, and specifically her perf as Sofya Tolstoy in “The Last Station.” Mirren is cited by the festival as “one of the most outstanding actresses of her generation.”

Career Achievement Award: Morgan Freeman
As Nelson Mandela in Clint Eastwood’s “Invictus,” Freeman adds another extraordinary role to his resume. Fest honors the Oscar winner for his many “memorable performances.”

Rising Star Award: Anna Kendrick
From a Tony nod at age 12, Kendrick moved from the boards to screen, debuting in “Camp.” “Rocket Science,” “Twilight” and its sequel “New Moon” are her major credits, with a standout perf as George Clooney’s foil in 2009’s “Up in the Air.”

Director of the Year: Jason Reitman
Helmer was previous a fest honoree in 2008 for “Juno,” which earned him, the film’s cast and screenwriter Diablo Cody the Chairman’s Vanguard Award; Reitman’s “emotionally resonant and timely” work in “Up in the Air” sets him apart, per the fest.

Breakthrough Performance Award: Jeremy Renner
For portraying an expert in diffusing IEDs in Kathryn Bigelow’s Iraq-set “The Hurt Locker,” Renner earned critical acclaim and one of the fest’s breakthrough kudos. Past credits include “28 Weeks Later” and “The Assassination of Jesse James by the Coward Robert Ford.”

Frederick Loewe Award for Film Composing: T Bone Burnett
Film composer, along with Stephen Bruton, and co-writer of many of “Crazy Heart’s” original songs, vet tunesmith and producer Burnett is honored for his contribution to the film’s “soulful, masterful soundtrack.”

Sony Bono Visionary Award: Quentin Tarantino
Award, named for the late mayor of Palm Springs and entertainer who founded the festival, goes this year to helmer Tarantino, whose latest pic, “Inglourious Basterds,” demonstrates his unmistakable visual style and cinematic substance.

Desert Palm Achievement Award: Marion Cotillard
Making the crossover from French films this year, Cotillard shines in both “Public Enemies” and “Nine.” An Academy Award winner for “La Vie en rose,” Cotillard is a past Breakthrough Performance Award winner.

Filed Under:

Want to read more articles like this one? SUBSCRIBE TO VARIETY TODAY.
Post A Comment 0

Leave a Reply

No Comments

Comments are moderated. They may be edited for clarity and reprinting in whole or in part in Variety publications.

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

More Film News from Variety