Annies celebrate their own

Jeffrey Katzenberg accepts career award

The world of animation gathered Saturday to honor its own at the 37th annual Annie Awards at UCLA’s Royce Hall.

DreamWorks Animation’s Jeffrey Katzenberg, on hand to accept the Winsor McCay Award for career contributions to the field, talked about the continuing evolution of 3D.

“This is the beginning of what I think is another great revolution, not just in animation but in all moviemaking,” he said. “There is great, creative work being done with this new tool for storytelling.”

Among those joining ASIFA-Hollywood founding member June Foray and president Antran Manoogian to celebrate all things toon were animated feature/director winner Pete Docter, Disney/Pixar’s Ed Catmull, DreamWorks’ Ann Daly, host William Shatner and nominees Henry Selick, John Leguizamo and Jenifer Lewis.

Want to read more articles like this one? SUBSCRIBE TO VARIETY TODAY.
Post A Comment 0

Leave a Reply

No Comments

Comments are moderated. They may be edited for clarity and reprinting in whole or in part in Variety publications.

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

More Digital News from Variety