‘Avatar’ sweeps Lumieres

New kudos for 3D projects lauded on Fox blockbuster

“Avatar” swept the Intl. 3D Society’s first annual Lumiere Awards on Tuesday night at Hollywood’s Mann Chinese Theater.

In addition to taking the statuette for live-action 3D feature of the year, Fox’s box office record-breaker also drew kudos for 3D character (Neytiri), 3D scene, live-action 3D stereography, 3D vfx and achievement for marketing 3D content.

“Avatar” co-star Giovanni Ribisi was on hand to accept on behalf of the filmmakers.

Other prizes were spread among several contenders. Pixar boasted two winners, with “Up” honored as animated 3D feature and “Partly Cloudy” taking the prize for 3D short.

Imax’s “Under the Sea 3D” got the award for 3D docu, Disney’s “G-Force” copped the prize for achievement in converting a feature from 2D to 3D, and Focus Features’ “Coraline” captured praise for animated 3D stereography.

Other honorees were Brendan Fraser, recipient of the 3D Talent award for his work as actor and exec producer on “Journey to the Center of the Earth in 3D,” and DreamWorks Animation’s Jeffrey Katzenberg, who received the org’s 3D Vision award.

The Intl. 3D Society also partnered with the People’s Choice Awards to honor one 3D live-action picture and one animated film. Nominees were announced in the Jan. 6 People’s Choice telecast, with fans voting online through Jan. 20. “Avatar” and “Coraline” won these two prizes, respectively.The Intl. 3D Society’s awards “represent the first time in motion picture history that achievement in the 3D art form has been recognized,” said org prexy Jim Chabin.

Society was formed last month to provide education to the rapidly growing stereoscopic 3D filmmaking community and to recognize talent in front of and behind the camera.

Org’s board of governors includes Marty Banks, UC Berkeley; Sandy Climan, 3ality Digital; Maria Costeira, Xpand; Rob Engle, Sony Pictures Imageworks; Charlotte Huggins, Salient Features; Peter Koplik, Master Image 3D; Brian Lenz, BSkyB; Mike Polydoros, Lionsgate; and Kurt Schwenk, Paramount Pictures.

Board officers are Sony 3D Technology center’s Buzz Hays, chairman; DreamWorks Animation’s Jim Mainard, vice chair; and Oculus3D’s Lenny Lipton, first vice chair.

Want to read more articles like this one? SUBSCRIBE TO VARIETY TODAY.
Post A Comment 0

Leave a Reply

No Comments

Comments are moderated. They may be edited for clarity and reprinting in whole or in part in Variety publications.

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

More Digital News from Variety