Toronto critics honor ‘Social Network’

Sony's Facebook pic dominates org's 2010 awards

The Toronto Film Critics Assn. is now friends with “The Social Network.”

David Fincher’s drama about the creation of Facebook dominated the org’s 2010 awards, nabbing five prizes including best picture and director.

Pic’s star Jesse Eisenberg won the actor laurel for his portrayal of Facebook founder Mark Zuckerberg. Aaron Sorkin took screenplay honors for his adaptation of Ben Mezrich’s book “The Accidental Billionaires,” while Armie Hammer earned supporting actor kudos for his dual role as the Winklevoss twins.

The plaudits add to “The Social Network’s” already weighty haul. Pic has been lauded by critics groups in New York, Los Angeles and Boston as well as by the National Board of Review.

Young thesps shut out their elders in all the TFCA’s performance categories this year.

“Winter’s Bone” star Jennifer Lawrence won best actress for her breakout turn as an Ozark teen kicking up dust after her father disappears, while supporting actress went to “True Grit” up-and-comer Hailee Steinfeld as a 14-year-old gunning to bring her father’s killer to justice.

“Exit Through the Gift Shop,” directed by British street artist Banksy, picked up prizes for documentary and first feature.

DreamWorks Animation’s “How to Train Your Dragon” won for best animated feature.

Thai director Apichatpong Weerasethakul’s Cannes-winning “Uncle Boonmee Who Can Recall His Past Lives” got a boost in advance of its U.S. theatrical opening, winning for foreign-language film. “Boonmee,” which had a successful limited release in Canada following its Toronto festival bow, was also a best pic runner-up.

The TFCA — which includes more than 40 Toronto-based print, broadcast and online film reviewers and commentators — also gave a special citation to veteran Toronto filmmaker Bruce McDonald, recognizing the heroic achievement of making four features in 2010.

The 2010 TFCA awards will be presented at a Jan. 12 gala dinner when the recipient of the best Canadian feature award, which comes with a C$15,000 ($14,880) cash prize, will be announced. The nominees are: Denis Villeneuve’s “Incendies,” Vincenzo Natali’s “Splice” and McDonald’s “Trigger.”

The TFCA will also present the second Jay Scott Prize for emerging talent ($4,961) to Toronto writer-director Daniel Cockburn, whose feature debut “You Are Here,” has been garnering praise on the international festival circuit.

Filed Under:

Want to read more articles like this one? SUBSCRIBE TO VARIETY TODAY.
Post A Comment 0

Leave a Reply

No Comments

Comments are moderated. They may be edited for clarity and reprinting in whole or in part in Variety publications.

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

More Biz News from Variety