Redgrave to receive BAFTA Fellowship

Honor to be presented at Feb. 21 awards

LONDON — Vanessa Redgrave is to receive BAFTA’s highest accolade, the Academy Fellowship.

The thesp will be given the honor, which is handed out in recognition of an outstanding and exceptional contribution to film, on Feb. 21 at the Orange British Academy Film Awards at London’s Royal Opera House.

Previously recipients have included Steven Spielberg, Sean Connery and Stanley Kubrick. Last year’s fellowship went to Terry Gilliam.

Redgrave won the supporting actress Oscar for “Julia” in 1978 and was Oscar nommed five other times. She has picked up kudos at Cannes (“Isadora,” “Morgan: A Suitable Case for Treatment”) and Venice (“Little Odessa”), and won two Emmys (“Playing for Time,” “If These Walls Could Talk 2”), as well as a Tony (“Long Day’s Journey Into Night”). She has been BAFTA nommed three times.

Redgrave’s recent film projects include Gary Winick’s “Letters to Juliet” and Larysa Kondracki’s “The Whistleblower.”

Want to read more articles like this one? SUBSCRIBE TO VARIETY TODAY.
Post A Comment 0

Leave a Reply

No Comments

Comments are moderated. They may be edited for clarity and reprinting in whole or in part in Variety publications.

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

More Biz News from Variety