Murthy to receive top Indian prize

Cinematographer nabs Phalke award

MUMBAI — V.K. Murthy will become the first cinematographer to receive India’s highest film honor, the Dadasaheb Phalke Award, the Ministry of Information and Broadcasting announced Tuesday.

The honor, given for lifetime contribution to Indian cinema, is named after Phalke, director of India’s first full-length feature, “Raja Harischandra.”

Murthy is best known for his collaborations with actor-director Guru Dutt, for whom he shot India’s first CinemaScope film “Kaagaz ke phool” in 1959.

Other notable work includes “Pyaasa,” “Sahib, bibi aur ghulam,” “Chaudhvin ka chand” and TV drama “Bharat ek khoj.”

Murthy won the IIFA lifetime achievement award in 2005.

The Phalke Award carries a cash prize of 1 million rupees ($21,800).

Want to read more articles like this one? SUBSCRIBE TO VARIETY TODAY.
Post A Comment 0

Leave a Reply

No Comments

Comments are moderated. They may be edited for clarity and reprinting in whole or in part in Variety publications.

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

More Biz News from Variety