European Commission sends warning

Twelve governments must revise TV regulations

BRUSSELS– Twelve European governments have been warned to revise broadcasting regulations or risk referral to the European Court of Justice.

The 12 have two months to respond to the warning letters, the European Commission said Thursday.

The countries are Austria, Cyprus, Estonia, Finland, Greece, Hungary, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxemburg, Poland, Portugal and Slovenia.

All 27 European Union countries were supposed to implement the changes set out in the 2007 Audiovisual Media Service Directive by December 2009.

The directive harmonizes Europe’s approach to broadcasting in the digital age, covering services such as delivery of TV over the Internet, video on demand and mobile TV.

It also creates a level-playing field for audiovisual media services across Europe’s borders, while maintaining consumer protection standards.

The 12 countries issued with warnings have either failed to implement the changes or have not informed the commission of their plans. They also failed to respond to an earlier request for information.

Want to read more articles like this one? SUBSCRIBE TO VARIETY TODAY.
Post A Comment 0

Leave a Reply

No Comments

Comments are moderated. They may be edited for clarity and reprinting in whole or in part in Variety publications.

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

More Biz News from Variety