Prizes given to emerging composers, writers

Up-and-coming musical theater creatives Mark Allen, Dave Malloy, Ryan Scott Oliver and composing team Thomas Mizer and Curtis Moore have picked the four Jonathan Larson grants for 2009.

Named after the late Larson (“Rent”), grants total $10,000 and are given to emerging composers, lyricists and book writers.

Composer Allen is a grad of the Tisch Musical Theater Writing Program and wrote the score for the feature “A Viking Saga,” while composer-lyricist Malloy’s resume includes the music for the recent tuner “Beowulf: A Thousand Years of Baggage.”

Book writer and lyricist Mizer and composer Moore penned “The Legend of Stagecoach Mary,” which was recently showcased in the National Alliance for Musical Theater’s annual fest. Composer-lyricist Oliver’s work includes the Richard Rodgers award winner “Alive at Ten,” among other shows.

Larson grants are administered by the American Theater Wing. Composer Mark Hollman, producer Kevin McCollum, helmer John Rando and music director Tim Weil selected this year’s recipients.

Want to read more articles like this one? SUBSCRIBE TO VARIETY TODAY.
Post A Comment 0