National Playwrights Conference begins July 4

Mark Brokaw, David Esbjornson and Sarah Benson are among the directors who will helm new plays at this summer’s National Playwrights Conference at the Eugene O’Neill Theater Center.

Brokaw (“Distracted”) directs the latest by Julia Cho (“Durango”), “The Language Archive,” while Esbjornson (“The Goat, or Who Is Sylvia?”) helms Abbie Spallen’s “Bogwog.” Soho Rep a.d. Sarah Benson (“Blasted”) stages Gregory Moss’ “House of Gold.”

Also signing on for the conference are Sean Daniels (directing “Fire Work” by Lauren Gunderson), Kyle Donnelly (Josh Tobiessen’s “Spoon Lake Blues”) and Davis McCallum (Emily Schwend’s “Carthage”).

As previously announced, conference a.d. Wendy C. Goldberg will helm “The Color of Desire,” the latest play by Pulitzer-winner Nilo Cruz.

The annual legit development conference runs July 4-26 in Waterford, Conn.

Want to read more articles like this one? SUBSCRIBE TO VARIETY TODAY.
Post A Comment 0