WGA to honor doc screenplays

Submission deadline is Dec. 3

The Writers Guild of America has asked for submissions for its sixth annual documentary screenplay nod — the only awards category in which the guild allows scripts not under WGA jurisdiction.

Deadline for submissions is Dec. 3.

The WGA will announce its feature nominations on Jan. 11 and hold its awards show on Feb. 20 at simultaneous ceremonies in Los Angeles and New York.

Morgan Spurlock won the WGA’s first documentary kudo for “Super Size Me” in 2005. Alex Gibney has won twice, for “Enron: The Smartest Guys in the Room” and “Taxi to the Dark Side”; other winners are Amy Berg for “Deliver Us From Evil” and, this year, Ari Folman for “Waltz With Bashir.”

The WGA requires that docus submitted for entry must contain an onscreen writing credit and have been exhibited theatrically in either New York or Los Angeles for one week this year, with credited writers required to join the guild’s Nonfiction Writers Caucus. Pics must be longer than 40 minutes, and documentaries that received their first public exhibition on broadcast or cable are not eligible.

The WGA announced creation of the docu nod in 2004 while at the same time excluding nonfiction works from its original screenplay award. Michael Moore won the guild’s original screenplay nod for 2002’s “Bowling for Columbine.”

Want to read more articles like this one? SUBSCRIBE TO VARIETY TODAY.
Post A Comment 0

Leave a Reply

No Comments

Comments are moderated. They may be edited for clarity and reprinting in whole or in part in Variety publications.

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

More Film News from Variety