Steve Harvey books ‘Like a Man’

Screen Gems to turn book into feature

Screen Gems has acquired rights to turn comedian Steve Harvey’s book “Act Like a Lady, Think Like a Man” into a feature.

Harvey wrote the humorous book of advice for women seeking to better understand their male counterparts, an exercise inspired by a segment on Harvey’s syndicated morning radio show.

Will Packer will produce, and Harvey will be exec producer. Screen Gems prexy Clint Culpepper will begin canvassing writers to hear different pitches for an ensemble comedy about romantic relationships. Culpepper first worked with Harvey when the latter acted in “You Got Served.””Steve has always provided an easily relatable perspective on men, the way they view women and their seemingly complex but surprisingly simple emotional needs,” Culpepper said. Culpepper and Packer flew to Dallas on Sunday to close the deal with Harvey.

Packer recently produced “Obsessed,” is shooting “Takers” and prepping a remake of “The Big Chill” for Screen Gems.

More Film

  • Star Wars: The Last Jedi

    Box Office: 'Star Wars: The Last Jedi' Hits $230 Million at International Box Office

    Screen Gems has acquired rights to turn comedian Steve Harvey’s book “Act Like a Lady, Think Like a Man” into a feature. Harvey wrote the humorous book of advice for women seeking to better understand their male counterparts, an exercise inspired by a segment on Harvey’s syndicated morning radio show. Will Packer will produce, and […]

  • Star Wars: The Last Jedi..Captain Phasma

    Box Office: 'Star Wars: The Last Jedi' Soars to $220 Million Opening Weekend

    Screen Gems has acquired rights to turn comedian Steve Harvey’s book “Act Like a Lady, Think Like a Man” into a feature. Harvey wrote the humorous book of advice for women seeking to better understand their male counterparts, an exercise inspired by a segment on Harvey’s syndicated morning radio show. Will Packer will produce, and […]

  • Les Arcs Film Festival

    Les Arcs European Film Festival's Industry Village Kicks Off with Strong Roster

    Screen Gems has acquired rights to turn comedian Steve Harvey’s book “Act Like a Lady, Think Like a Man” into a feature. Harvey wrote the humorous book of advice for women seeking to better understand their male counterparts, an exercise inspired by a segment on Harvey’s syndicated morning radio show. Will Packer will produce, and […]

  • Star Wars: The Last Jedi

    Box Office: 'Star Wars: The Last Jedi' Rockets to $215 Million Opening Weekend

    Screen Gems has acquired rights to turn comedian Steve Harvey’s book “Act Like a Lady, Think Like a Man” into a feature. Harvey wrote the humorous book of advice for women seeking to better understand their male counterparts, an exercise inspired by a segment on Harvey’s syndicated morning radio show. Will Packer will produce, and […]

  • Disney-Fox Deal Sets Up Scramble for

    Disney-Fox Deal Unleashes Flood of Free-Agent Executives, Talent

    Screen Gems has acquired rights to turn comedian Steve Harvey’s book “Act Like a Lady, Think Like a Man” into a feature. Harvey wrote the humorous book of advice for women seeking to better understand their male counterparts, an exercise inspired by a segment on Harvey’s syndicated morning radio show. Will Packer will produce, and […]

  • Anita Hill

    Anita Hill Chairs Hollywood Anti-Sexual Harassment Commission Formed by Top Execs

    Screen Gems has acquired rights to turn comedian Steve Harvey’s book “Act Like a Lady, Think Like a Man” into a feature. Harvey wrote the humorous book of advice for women seeking to better understand their male counterparts, an exercise inspired by a segment on Harvey’s syndicated morning radio show. Will Packer will produce, and […]

  • Warren Beatty

    Arnon Milchan Sues Warren Beatty Over 'Rules Don't Apply' Flop

    Screen Gems has acquired rights to turn comedian Steve Harvey’s book “Act Like a Lady, Think Like a Man” into a feature. Harvey wrote the humorous book of advice for women seeking to better understand their male counterparts, an exercise inspired by a segment on Harvey’s syndicated morning radio show. Will Packer will produce, and […]

More From Our Brands

Access exclusive content