Spielberg, Springsteen to honor Hanks

Actor receiving Chaplin Award Monday in N.Y.

Steven Spielberg, Bruce Springsteen and Charlize Theron have joined the list of presenters for the Chaplin Award being presented Monday to Tom Hanks.

The Chaplin Award is also the new name announced Friday for the annual gala tribute staged by the Film Society at Lincoln Center. Hanks will be honored at the completely revamped Alice Tully Hall, the first area of the Lincoln Center campus to be transformed by ongoing renovations.

Other presenters will include Julia Roberts, Mike Nichols and Ron Howard.

Charlie Chaplin was the first recipient of the gala tribute in 1972, returning to the U.S. from exile in Europe to attend. The honor has since been given to the likes of Elizabeth Taylor, Martin Scorsese and Jimmy Stewart.

Want to read more articles like this one? SUBSCRIBE TO VARIETY TODAY.
Post A Comment 0

Leave a Reply

No Comments

Comments are moderated. They may be edited for clarity and reprinting in whole or in part in Variety publications.

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

More Film News from Variety