‘Slumdog’ tops Attenborough poll

Main prizes chosen by U.K. provincial critics

LONDON — Global awards darling and B.O. sensation “Slumdog Millionaire” has collected four Richard Attenborough Film Awards, including film and filmmaker of the year for Danny Boyle.

The main Attenborough prizes are decided by provincial U.K. film crix votes. Other awards are decided by public vote.

Other “Slumdog” wins were for thesp Dev Patel, twice. Crix voted him rising star of the year and the public anointed him Brit breakthrough star.

In the other critics’ categories, Kate Winslet was named actress of the year for “The Reader,” Mickey Rourke body-slammed the actor award and Martin McDonagh (“In Bruges”) was named best screenwriter.

“The Dark Knight” bagged the film of the year honor from the public, who cast their votes online. “Mamma Mia!” was named Brit film of the year.

The 10 awards were announced Thursday in London’s West End.

The RAFAs are organized by Cinema Days, the trade events for regional crix.

Want to read more articles like this one? SUBSCRIBE TO VARIETY TODAY.
Post A Comment 0

Leave a Reply

No Comments

Comments are moderated. They may be edited for clarity and reprinting in whole or in part in Variety publications.

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

More Film News from Variety