San Diego critics love ‘Basterds’

Tarantino pic takes home four prizes

The San Diego Film Critics Society show their love to “Inglourious Basterds” by handing out its top honors to the WWII epic and its director Quentin Tarantino, who took home the prize for helming and original screenplay.

Basterds” also won a supporting actor trophy for Christoph Waltz and ensemble performance.

Michelle Monaghan was honored for her work in “Trucker” with the best actress kudos, while Colin Firth nabbed another trophy for his turn in “A Single Man.”

Woody Harrelson won the Body of Work prize for his turns in “2012,” “Zombieland” and “The Messenger.”

The SDFCS is made up of 15 critics from print, radio, Web and TV outlets in the San Diego area.

And the winners are:

FILM: “Inglourious Basterds”
Runner-up: “A Single Man”

DIRECTOR: Quentin Tarantino – “Inglourious Basterds”
Runner-up: James Cameron – “Avatar”

ACTRESS: Michelle Monaghan – “Trucker”
Runners-up: Abbie Cornish – “Bright Star”, Carey Mulligan – “An Education”

ACTOR: Colin Firth – “A Single Man”
Runner-up: Viggo Mortensen – “The Road”

SUPPORTING ACTRESS: Samantha Morton – “The Messenger”
Runner-up: Anna Kendrick – “Up in the Air”

SUPPORTING ACTOR: Christoph Waltz – “Inglourious Basterds”
Runner-up: Woody Harrelson – “The Messenger”

ORIGINAL SCREENPLAY: Quentin Tarantino – “Inglourious Basterds”
Runner-up: Joel & Ethan Coen – “A Serious Man”

ADAPTED SCREENPLAY: Wes Anderson & Noah Baumbach – “Fantastic Mr. Fox”
Runner-up: Jason Reitman & Sheldon Turner – “Up in the Air”

Runner-up: “Sin Nombre”

Runner-up: “Anvil, The Story of Anvil”

Runner-up: “Fantastic Mr. Fox”

CINEMATOGRAPHY: Javier Aguirresarobe – “The Road”
Runner-up: Robert Richardson – “Inglourious Basterds”

EDITING: Alan Edward Bell – “(500) Days of Summer”
Runner-up: Sally Menke – “Inglourious Basterds”

PRODUCTION DESIGN: David Wasco – “Inglourious Basterds”
Runner-up: Anatasia Masaro – “Imaginarium of Dr. Parnassus”

SCORE: Abel Korzeniowski – “A Single Man”
Runner-up: Michael Giacchino – “Up”

ENSEMBLE PERFORMANCE: “Inglourious Basterds”
Runner-up: “A Serious Man”

BODY OF WORK: Woody Harrelson – “The Messenger,” “Zombieland,” “2012”

KYLE COUNTS AWARD: Reading Cinemas Gaslamp Stadium 15

Filed Under:

Want to read more articles like this one? SUBSCRIBE TO VARIETY TODAY.
Post A Comment 0

Leave a Reply

No Comments

Comments are moderated. They may be edited for clarity and reprinting in whole or in part in Variety publications.

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

More Film News from Variety