Lee, Perry nommed for Image Awards

NAACP show airs on Fox Feb. 12

Spike Lee (“Miracle at St. Anna”), Tyler Perry (“The Family That Preys”), Gina Prince-Bythewood (“The Secret Life of Bees”), Patrik-Ian Polk (“Noah’s Arc: Jumping the Broom”) and Darnell Martin (“Cadillac Records”) are the directors nommed for the 40th NAACP Image Awards.

Comedy series helmers nominated are Ali LeRoi (“Everybody Hates Chris”), Ken Whittingham (“Entourage”), Kevin Sullivan (“30 Rock”), Tracee Ellis Ross (“Girlfriends”) and Victor Nelli Jr. (“Ugly Betty”).

Directors nominated for a drama series are Anthony Hemingway (“Heroes”), Eriq La Salle (“Law & Order: SVU”), Ernest Dickerson (“Lincoln Heights”), Paris Barclay (“In Treatment”) and Seith Mann (“The Wire”).

Elizabeth Catlett-Mora, Jonathan Green and Sam Gilliam will receive the Key of Life Awards, which recognize artists whose work reflects human rights and social justice.

All other NAACP nominations were announced two weeks ago.

The 40th NAACP Image Awards, hosted by Halle Berry and Perry, airs live on Fox on Feb. 12.

Want to read more articles like this one? SUBSCRIBE TO VARIETY TODAY.
Post A Comment 0

Leave a Reply

No Comments

Comments are moderated. They may be edited for clarity and reprinting in whole or in part in Variety publications.

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

More Film News from Variety