Kathryn Bigelow gets Columbia honor

'Point Break' director to receive Sarris award

Columbia U. School of the Arts will award action pic helmer Kathryn Bigelow its 22nd Annual Andrew Sarris award, named for the longtime Village Voice and New York Observer film critic.

Bigelow’s films include “Point Break,” “Strange Days,” “K-19: The Widowmaker” and the upcoming “Hurt Locker,” starring Guy Pearce and Ralph Fiennes and set for a June 26 theatrical release in the U.S..

Bigelow will accept the award in Los Angeles on June 2 during the L.A. portion of the Columbia U. Film Fest.

Filed Under:

Want to read more articles like this one? SUBSCRIBE TO VARIETY TODAY.
Post A Comment 0

Leave a Reply

No Comments

Comments are moderated. They may be edited for clarity and reprinting in whole or in part in Variety publications.

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

More Film News from Variety