Humanitas honors scribes

'Wall-E' writers prevailed in the film category

“Wall-E” scribes Andrew Stanton, Jim Reardon and Pete Docter prevailed in the film category Thursday at the Humanitas Awards.

Cherien Dabis took the Sundance kudo for her feature “Amreeka” at the luncheon ceremony held at the Beverly Hills Hotel.

“Grey’s Anatomy” creator/exec producer Shonda Rhimes, who presented Dabis’ award said, “Writing, when it is done well, is usually painful.”

Reardon, accepting on behalf of his “Wall-E” cohorts, joked that they pitched the movie to Pixar execs as: “A post-apocalyptic sci-fi picture starring a mute stalker. And they said OK.”Other winners included Aseem Batra in the half-hour TV category for ABC’s “Scrubs”; Jason Katims in the hourlong heat for NBC/DirecTV’s “Friday Night Lights”; Lt. Col. Michael R. Strobl and Ross Katz in the telepic field for HBO’s “Taking Chance”; and Arika Lisanne Mittman for kidvid for the N’s “South of Nowhere.”

The documentary award went to Carlos Hagerman and Juan Carlos Rulfo for “Los que quedan.” Scott Rutherford took the David & Lynn Angell Fellowship in comedy writing, while Joey Falco drew the Student Drama Fellowship.

The Humanitas Awards are presented to television and film writers who celebrate humanity and liberty. It is also to “help writers tell the stories of tomorrow,” said Cathleen Young, executive director of the Humanitas Prize. Each winner of the nine categories receives an award of $10,000 and a statuette.

“Scrubs” creator and past Humanitas winner Bill Lawrence emceed.

Separately, Humanitas announced the 22 scribes and helmers who will serve as trustees overseeing the production venture that the org recently launched in partnership with the Assn. of National Advertisers’ Alliance for Family Entertainment (Daily Variety, June 3).

The list of trustees include Lawrence and Rhimes. The others are: Neal Baer, Paris Barclay, Greg Berlanti, Cindy Chupack, Kirk Ellis, Tom Fontana, Marshall Herskovitz, Winnie Holzman, Jason Katims, Richard LaGravenese, Ali Leroi, Damon Lindelof, Carol Mendelsohn, Paris Qualles, David Shore, Patric Verrone, John Wells, John Sacret Young, David Zabel and Ed Zwick.

Want to read more articles like this one? SUBSCRIBE TO VARIETY TODAY.
Post A Comment 0

Leave a Reply

No Comments

Comments are moderated. They may be edited for clarity and reprinting in whole or in part in Variety publications.

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

More Film News from Variety