Finalists picked for Nicholl Fellowship

Writer include scribes for 'Transformers,' 'Castle'

Eleven writers have been chosen as finalists for the Nicholl Screenwriting Fellowship presented by the Academy of Motion Picture Arts & Sciences.

The Nicholl committee of writers, cinematographers, producers and executives will read each finalist’s script and choose up to five recipients for $30,000 prizes.

During the following year, each recipient of the fellowship is expected to complete a feature-length screenplay.

Past Nicholl fellows include Ehren Kruger, who co-wrote this year’s “Transformers: Revenge of the Fallen,” and Andrew W. Marlowe, who created ABC’s “Castle.”

From a pool of more than 6,000 submissions, the finalists are Matt Ackley, “Victoria Falls”; Vineet Dewan and Angus Fletcher, “Sand Dogs”; John Griffin, “Dream Before Waking”; Hiram Martinez, “Ansiedad”; Marleine Pacilio, “Born Elizabeth Jane”; Adriana Brad Schanen, “Gifted”; Neil Swaab, “Eddie Fantastic!”; Nidhi Anna Verghese, “Jallianwala Bagh”; Dan Lee West, “Abroad”; and Jeff Williams, “Pure.”

Want to read more articles like this one? SUBSCRIBE TO VARIETY TODAY.
Post A Comment 0

Leave a Reply

No Comments

Comments are moderated. They may be edited for clarity and reprinting in whole or in part in Variety publications.

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

More Film News from Variety