Beier, Cohen, Hall, Houston join Sci-Tech Council

The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences has added four members to its Science and Technology Council.

Thad Beier, head of CG at Digital Domain; Elizabeth Cohen, founder of Cohen Acoustical; sound editor Don Hall, who reps the sound branch on the Acad’s board of governors; and Jim Houston, chair of the council’s Image Interchange Framework project committee, have accepted their invitations to join the council. Established in 2003, the group now boasts 23 members.

Beier received an Academy Technical Award in 1998; Beier was given the org’s John A. Bonner Medal of Commendation in 2005; and Houston received the Acad’s Scientific and Engineering Award in 1991 and 2006.

— Variety staff

Want to read more articles like this one? SUBSCRIBE TO VARIETY TODAY.
Post A Comment 0