'Button,' 'Slumdog,' 'Iron' among films chosen

“The Curious Case of Benjamin Button,” “Iron Man,” “The Reader,” “Revolutionary Road” and “Slumdog Millionaire” have been named finalists for the 21st annual USC Libraries Scripter Award.

The winner will be announced Jan. 30 in ceremonies at USC’s Edward L. Doheny Jr. Memorial Library. The kudo honors the year’s top script adaptation along with the source material.

Screenwriter finalists, announced Monday, are Eric Roth, who shares story credit with Robin Swicord, for “Benjamin Button,” based on the short story by F. Scott Fitzgerald; Mark Fergus and Hawk Ostby and Art Marcum and Matt Holloway for “Iron Man,” based on the comicbook series by Stan Lee and Don Heck; David Hare and author Bernhard Schlink for “The Reader”; Justin Haythe for “Revolutionary Road,” based on the novel by Richard Yates; and Vikas Swarup, author of “Q & A,” adapted for the screen as “Slumdog Millionaire” by Simon Beaufoy.

Fergus and Ostby won the award in 2007 for their work on the writing team that adapted P.D. James’ “The Children of Men.” Hare won in 2003 for adapting Michael Cunningham’s “The Hours.”

The selection committee, chaired by Naomi Foner Gyllenhaal, chose the finalists from a field of 58 eligible films. That panel includes Lawrence Kasdan; Tony Kushner; Phoenix Pictures topper Mike Medavoy; Catherine Quinlan, dean of the USC Libraries; Fox Filmed Entertainment CEO Tom Rothman; Jennifer and Suzanne Todd; and Laura Ziskin.

Want to read more articles like this one? SUBSCRIBE TO VARIETY TODAY.
Post A Comment 0