AMPAS returns nine incumbents to the board

Annual branch elections of governors of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts & Sciences returned nine incumbents to the board and voted in four new governors.

Tom Hanks returns to the governing body after a year hiatus, representing the actors branch.

Elections are not complete due to a tie between candidates Gil Cates and Edward Zwick for Academy governor in the directors branch. The tie requires a second polling and marks the first time a runoff has been necessary. Ballots will be mailed to directors branch members and are due back by July 29.

Those elected to the Academy board for the first time are James D. Bissell, art directors branch; Lynne Littman, documentary; Robert G. Friedman, public relations; and Bill Kroyer, short films and feature animation, filling the seat of Michael Apted, who resigned due to work obligations.

Returning board members include Caleb Deschanel, cinematographers branch; Rob Epstein, documentary; Tom Sherak, executives; Mark Goldblatt, film editors; Bruce Broughton, music; Mark Johnson, producers; Kevin O’Connell, sound; Bill Taylor, visual effects; and James L. Brooks, writers.

Filed Under:

Want to read more articles like this one? SUBSCRIBE TO VARIETY TODAY.
Post A Comment 0