San Francisco film org fetes Coppola

Honored to be presented at film festival

The San Francisco Film Society will present Francis Ford Coppola the founder’s directing award at the 52nd San Francisco Film Festival on April 30 at the Westin St. Francis Hotel.

The award was first bestowed in 1986 upon Akira Kurosawa. Other recipients include Mike Leigh, Spike Lee, Werner Herzog, Taylor Hackford, Milos Forman, Robert Altman, Warren Beatty, Clint Eastwood, Arthur Penn, Stanley Donen, Satyajit Ray, Joseph L. Mankiewicz, Robert Bresson and Michael Powell.

The festival also has scheduled “An Evening With Francis Ford Coppola and Friends” on May 1 at the Castro Theater, with film clips, including the trailer from Coppola’s latest film “Tetro,” and an extended audience Q&A. “Tetro” opens in limited release June 11 and is distributed by American Zoetrope Releasing.

“Genius, visionary, iconoclast, Francis Ford Coppola is one of the towering figures in American and world cinema,” said Graham Leggat, the film society’s exec director.

Filed Under:

Want to read more articles like this one? SUBSCRIBE TO VARIETY TODAY.
Post A Comment 0

Leave a Reply

No Comments

Comments are moderated. They may be edited for clarity and reprinting in whole or in part in Variety publications.

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

More Film News from Variety