'Precious' star to receive New Hollywood award

The Hollywood Film Festival has tapped actors Carey Mulligan and Jeremy Renner, director Lee Daniels and writers Scott Neustadter and Michael H. Weber for its “breakthrough” awards.

The festival also selected Gabourey Sidibe, star of “Precious: Based on the Novel ‘Push’ by Sapphire” to receive its New Hollywood award. The kudos will be presented at the fest’s awards ceremony Oct. 26 at the BevHilton.

Mulligan stars in Lone Scherfig’s “An Education” and will next be seen in Oliver Stone’s “Wall Street 2: Money Never Sleeps.” She also recently wrapped filming of Fox Searchlight’s “Never Let Me Go.”

Renner starred in “The Hurt Locker” and is filming “The Town” with Ben Affleck and Blake Lively for Warner Bros.

Daniels most recently directed “Precious.” He made his directorial debut with “Shadowboxer,” recently produced “Tennessee” and is teaming with Chilean filmmaker Sebastian Silva to produce “Second Child.”

Neustadter and Weber wrote the screenplay for Marc Webb’s “500 Days of Summer” from Fox Searchlight.

Want to read more articles like this one? SUBSCRIBE TO VARIETY TODAY.
Post A Comment 0