‘Brothers Bloom’ to open Dallas fest

'Hurt Locker' will also screen at AFI event

The AFI Dallas Film Festival has set Rian Johnson’s “The Brothers Bloom,” starring Adrien Brody, Mark Ruffalo, Rachel Weisz and Rinko Kikuchi, as its opening-night feature on March 26.

Fest’s centerpiece presentations are “The Hurt Locker,” directed by Kathryn Bigelow and starring Ralph Fiennes, Evangeline Lilly, David Morse and Guy Pearce, and “The Burning Plain,” directed by Guillermo Arriaga and starring Charlize Theron and Kim Basinger.

The eight-day festival is in its third year.

Event’s Dallas Star Award will go to Bigelow, Brody and Robert Towne. Rita Hayworth will be honored posthumously. Hayworth’s award will be presented to her daughter, Princess Yasmine Aga Khan, prior to a screening of “Gilda,” while Towne will be feted at a presentation for the 35th anniversary of “Chinatown.”

The festival’s also celebrating director Henry Selick with the Texas Avery Animation Award, which honors lifetime achievement in animation.

Want to read more articles like this one? SUBSCRIBE TO VARIETY TODAY.
Post A Comment 0

Leave a Reply

No Comments

Comments are moderated. They may be edited for clarity and reprinting in whole or in part in Variety publications.

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

More Film News from Variety