Houston critics salute ‘Locker’

Director Bigelow among pic's prizes

“The Hurt Locker” added three more prizes to its war chest Saturday when the Houston Film Critics Society saluted helmer Kathryn Bigelow’s intense drama with commendations for picture, director and cinematography (by lenser Barry Ackroyd).

HFCS also increased the kudos count for “Up in the Air” by giving awards to George Clooney for actor and Anna Kendrick for supporting actress, and honoring scripters Jason Reitman and Shelton Turner for their screenplay.

Other HFCS honorees were Carey Mulligan of “An Education,” actress; Christoph Waltz of “Inglourious Basterds,” supporting actor; “Up,” animated film; “The Cove,” documentary; “Sin nombre,” foreign film. The prize for original score went to Michael Giacchino for “Up,” while “Petey’s Song” from “Fantastic Mr. Fox” took the honors for original song.

Winners were announced Saturday at the annual HFCS awards program hosted by the Museum of Fine Arts, Houston. HFCS honored the late Patrick Swayze, a Houston native, with its lifetime achievement award; Texas-born actor G.W. Bailey for his work with the Sunshine Kids Foundation Humanitarian of the Year; and publicist Margaret Stratton for repping clients in the Houston area.

Want to read more articles like this one? SUBSCRIBE TO VARIETY TODAY.
Post A Comment 0

Leave a Reply

No Comments

Comments are moderated. They may be edited for clarity and reprinting in whole or in part in Variety publications.

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

More Film News from Variety