Imagen unveils awards nominees

Disney’s “Beverly Hills Chihuahua,” Parts and Labor’s “Don’t Let Me Drown,” Overture’s “Nothing Like the Holidays” and Maya’s “Sleepdealer” have been tapped as feature nominees for the 24th Annual Imagen Awards.

Primetime program noms went to ABC’s “Ugly Betty” and “Lost,” CBS’ “Cold Case,” HBO’s “Capadocia” and Lifetime’s “Little Girl Lost: The Delimar Vera Story.”

The Imagen Foundation will announce winners at ceremonies Aug. 21 at the Beverly Hilton. Kudos honor positive portrayals of Latinos and Latino culture in entertainment.

Winners will be selected by an independent panel of entertainment industry execs and Latino community leaders.

Feature actor noms went to Andy Garcia, George Lopez and Edward James Olmos in “Beverly Hills Chihuahua” and Luis Guzman in “Maldeamores.” Supporting actor mentions included Manolo Cardona, Cheech Marin and Paul Rodriguez in “Beverly Hills Chihuahua.”

Feature directing bids went to Kenneth Castillo for “The Drive-By Chronicles: Sidewayz,” Alex Rivera for “Sleepdealer,” Georgina Riedel for “How the Garcia Girls Spent Their Summer” and Carlitos Ruiz for “Maldeamores.”

Documentary noms were given to “Viva La Causa” (Bill Brummel Prods.); “Soy Soldado” (Juan Escobedo); “Beisbol” (Winston Davis Associates); “Pushin’ Forward: The James Lilly Story” (Fanlight Prods.); and “Crude” (at Radical Media).

Noms for theatrical short went to “The Book of the Border” (UCLA Film & TV); “St. Paul” (Varona Prods.); “On a Sunday Afternoon” (Valor Prods.); “Rising Up” (Eduardo Letamendi); and “Tupi — Rebellion in the Backlands” (Sandwiches&Juice Prods.).

The org noted that the feature actress and supporting actress categories did not meet the minimum number of entries required for award consideration.

TV actor noms went to Hector Bustamante, “Little Girl Lost: The Delimar Vera Story”; Benjamin Bratt, “The Cleaner”; and James Roday, “Psych.” TV actress noms went to America Ferrera, “Ugly Betty”; Alana de la Garza, “Law and Order”; Selena Gomez, “Wizards of Waverly Place”; Judy Reyes, “Little Girl Lost: The Delimar Vera Story”; and Caitlin Sanchez, “Dora the Explorer.”

Supporting TV actor noms were given to Raymond Cruz, “The Closer”; Rudy Reyes, “Generation Kill”; A Martinez, “Little Girl Lost: The Delimar Vera Story”; Jimmy Smits, “Dexter”; Carlos Bernard, “24”; and Jorge Garcia, “Lost.”

Supporting TV actress nominees included Ana Ortiz, “Ugly Betty”; Marlene Forte and Ana Ortiz, “Little Girl Lost: The Delimar Vera Story”; Cote de Pablo, “NCIS”; Eva La Rue, “CSI: Miami”; Maria Canals-Barrera, “Wizards of Waverly Place”; and Gina Ravera, “The Closer.”

Children’s programming nominations went to “Dora the Explorer,” “Handy Manny,” “Maya and Miguel” and “Nick News With Linda Ellerbee.” TV documentary noms went to “A Class Apart,” “The Last Conquistador,” “Latinos ’08,” “Habla Ya” and “Angel in the Hood.”

National informational program noms went to “Despierta America — De Lava Platos a Chef,” “Despierta America — La Casa de Martha,” “National Wildlife Federation — Campus Chill Out,” “Viva La Familia — Ninas Teniendo Ninos” and “Extra.” Drawing local informational program noms were “Inside Locke High School,” “Camino a la Universidad,” “Vista L.A.” and “Dominican Dreams.”

Want to read more articles like this one? SUBSCRIBE TO VARIETY TODAY.
Post A Comment 0