Berkeley tops College TV Awards

UC school wins four prizes

The University of California, Berkeley, led the pack at this year’s College Television Awards, scoring four honors.

The Academy of TV Arts and Sciences held the 30th annual kudofest on Saturday at the Culver Studios. “Dancing with the Stars” emcee Tom Bergeron hosted the event.

Beyond Berkeley, UCLA landed three awards, while Northwestern, BYU and the American Film Institute took two apiece.

The Ugandan war drama “Acholiland” won the $4,000 Bricker Humanitarian Award, while its director, Dean Israelite, took the $1,000 Directing Award.

The College Television Awards hands out prizes to winners in 12 categories: animation, children’s, comedy, commercial, documentary, drama, interactive media, magazine, music composition and music best use, newscasts and series.

The TV Academy foundation received the most-ever submissions this year — 712 student videos from 214 schools in 42 states. Winners’ works will be shown on mtvU, MTV’s college network.

First-place recipients received $2,000, while second-place winners earned $1,000 and third-place winners received $500.

And the winners are:

Animation: “Kites,” Jordan Pack, James L. Jackson (BYU)
Children’s: “Frog, Chemical, Water, You,” Jennifer Grace (Montana State U)
Comedy: “Lucy: A Period Piece,” Julie Sagalowsky, Josh Feldman (UCLA)
Commercials: “Sounds Refreshing,” Gabriel Taraboulsy, Edward Blythe (Columbia U)
Documentary: “Standard Deviation” David Randag, Christopher Brannan (U of Florida)
Drama: “Acholiland,” Daniel M. Harrich (AFI)
Magazine Shows: “ 26:46,” Jay Carey, Tom Lareau (Southern Illinois U)
Music, Best Use: “Mechanical Hands Electric Heart,” Chris Buongiorno, Derek Villarreal (Art Center College of Design), Nicole Taubman (Cal State U Northridge)
Music, Composition: “Hangar No. 5,” Philip Klein (Northwestern U)
Newscasts: “Carolina Week,” Catherine S. Cannon, Carly J. Swain (U of North Carolina)

Want to read more articles like this one? SUBSCRIBE TO VARIETY TODAY.
Post A Comment 0

Leave a Reply

No Comments

Comments are moderated. They may be edited for clarity and reprinting in whole or in part in Variety publications.

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

More Film News from Variety