Kudos to be handed out on Oct. 17

A.R. Rahman, who won two Oscars for his music in “Slumdog Millionaire,” leads the nominations for the World Soundtrack Awards, to be doled out Oct. 17, the closing night of the Ghent Film Festival.

Rahman received three nominations for his work in “Slumdog,” including original score and original song for both “Jai Ho,” with lyrics by Gulzar, and “O Saya,” co-written by Maya Arulpragasam.

Carter Burwell (“Burn After Reading”), Alexandre Desplat (“The Curious Case of Benjamin Button”) and Hans Zimmer (“Frost/Nixon”) received double nominations: film composer of the year, which encompasses their body of work over the past year, as well as original score. Danny Elfman (“Milk,” “Taking Woodstock,” “Notorious”) and Michael Giacchino (“Star Trek,” “Up,” “Land of the Lost”) round out the nominees for composer, while Reinhold Heil, Tom Tykwer and Johnny Klimek were nominated for their score for “The International.”

Clint Eastwood (“Gran Torino”), Anna Chalon (“Je l’aimais”) and Bruce Springsteen were among the multiple nominees for original song.

The nominees and winners are determined by the World Soundtrack Academy, which comprises 300 composers and reps in the film biz.

Want to read more articles like this one? SUBSCRIBE TO VARIETY TODAY.
Post A Comment 0