Election Mix Channel sets event for Nov. 4

DirecTV will showcase eight news networks simultaneously on Nov. 4, courtesy of its special Election Mix Channel.

The respective coverage of ABC, NBC, CBS, CNN, MSNBC, the Fox broadcast net and Fox News Channel will be supplemented by alternating coverage feeds from Comedy Central and BBC America.

Eight nets will be onscreen; viewers can select one to hear audio. The option to go fullscreen with one net’s coverage will also be available. The satcaster will beam two signals — one in high def, the other in standard definition.

“This unique channel will feature eight network feeds on one screen and a real-time election blog that will track the announcements and analysis on each channel as votes are counted, exit polling data is evaluated and electoral count projections roll in,” the satellite broadcaster announced.

DirecTV offers similar viewing for its sports programming.

“The interactive mix channels have proven value for fans of our sports subscription services, and we believe the Election Mix will serve the same purpose here, helping viewers navigate the mosaic of news coverage, analysis and commentary of the shifting drama,” exec VP Eric Shanks said in a statement.

The channel will be available starting 7 p.m. ET/4 p.m. PT on Nov. 4 and will continue until 6 a.m. ET/3 a.m. PT the next day, unless events warrant extension.

Follow @Variety on Twitter for breaking news, reviews and more
Post A Comment 0