A look at company's development slate

Alcon’s development slate runs the gamut from family movies and prestige pics to high-concept thrillers and comedies. Here’s what’s in the works, in alphabetical order:

THE BOOK OF ELI

The Hughes brothers (“Dead Presidents”) are in pre-production on this postapocalyptic Western starring Denzel Washington as a lone warrior who must fight to deliver knowledge that could be the key to society’s redemption. Joel Silver is also producing.

BROTHERS IN ARMS

Denzel Washington directs the true story of the 761st tank battalion in WWII, the first all-black armored unit to see combat, which led the Allied forces from France to Germany. New Zealand-based vfx house Weta is onboard the project, which is written by John Sayles and David Chisholm.

COUNTERFEIT SON

Helmer Ericson Core (“Invincible”) is set to direct this thriller about a family who must decide whether an 18-year-old boy claiming to be their long-lost son truly is who he says he is.

CRYPTOZOO

Based on a graphic novel, sci-fier follows a man who protects the identity of rare animals as he works to safeguard a one-of-a-kind species from falling into the wrong hands.  

DOLPHIN TALE

In the vein of “My Dog Skip” and Carroll Ballard (“The Black Stallion”), this family film is based on a true story about a dolphin that loses its tail fin and the animal rescue hospital that saves it by attaching a prosthetic.

HONG KONG PHOOEY

Jay Stern and Brett Ratner are also producers of this adaptation of the ’70s Hanna-Barbera animated TV series, about a dog named Penry who receives mystical powers, including the ability to do kung fu.

MARVIN THE MARTIAN

Adaptation of the famous Looney Tunes character is a live-action and CGI combo that follows the malevolent Marvin on a mission to destroy Earth because it’s blocking his view of Venus.

SOMETHING BORROWED

As part of Alcon’s first-look deal with Oscar winner Hilary Swank’s 2S Films, drama is an adaptation of Emily Giffin’s bestselling novel about a young Manhattan attorney who becomes involved with her best friend’s fiancee.

STEP DUDE

Alcon is producing with Donald De Line and Steve Brill. This comedy, in the vein of “Meet the Parents,” focuses on a 28-year-old “momma’s boy” whose mother starts dating a Miami club owner his own age.

VALET

Directed by Brad Furman (“The Take”) and written by Matthew Aldrich and Alan McElroy (“Wrong Turn”), thriller follows an obsessive valet who copies a woman’s car keys and invades her life in an effort to get her to fall in love with him.

Want Entertainment News First? Sign up for Variety Alerts and Newsletters!
Post A Comment 0