L.A. drama critics announce noms

Four perfs garner five nominations each

Two tuners, “13” and “Zanna Don’t,” and two plays, “dark play, or stories for boys” and “Love Loves a Pornographer,” garnered five noms each in the 39th annual Los Angeles Drama Critics Circle Awards.

Tied with four each are Elephant Theater’s “In Arabia, We’d All Be Kings,” Geffen Playhouse’s,” “The Quality of Life” and the Center Theater Group/Kirk Douglas Theater premiere of “Sleeping Beauty Wakes.” “13,” “dark play or stories for boys,” “In Arabia We’d All Be Kings” and “The Quality of Life” are all vying top production nods, along with the Colony Theater Company’s staging of “Trying,” which garnered three noms.

Also nabbing three noms is El Portal Forum Theater’s holiday tuner, “Winter Wonderettes.”

Awards ceremony will be held March 17 at North Hollywood’s El Portal Theatre, hosted by Jason Graae. Graae is also being honored with the Joel Hirschhorn Award for outstanding achievement in musical theater.

Awards will be given in 16 categories, honoring excellence in theater over the past year.

The nominees for the 2007 Los Angeles Drama Critics Circle Awards are:

“13,” CTG, Mark Taper Forum
“dark play or stories for boys,” Theater@Boston Court“The Quality of Life,” Geffen Playhouse, Audrey Skirball Kenis Theater
“Trying,” Colony Theater Company


“The Hasty Heart,” Pacific Resident Theater Company
“Tonight at 8:30, Parts 1 and 2,” Antaeus Theater Company at Deaf West Theater
“Waiting for Godot,” A Noise Within


Jillian Armenante, “Love Loves a Pornographer,” Circle X at [Inside] the Ford
Dan Bonnell, “Anatol,” Pacific Resident Theater
Jeff Calhoun, “Sleeping Beauty Wakes,” CTG, Kirk Douglas Theater
Nick DeGruccio, “Zanna, Don’t!,” West Coast Ensemble at Lyric-Hyperion Theater
Michael Michetti, “dark play or stories for boys”


Jason Robert Brown, “13”
Joanna McClelland Glass, “Trying”
Jeff Goode, “Love Loves a Pornographer”
Stephen Adly Guirgis, “In Arabia We’d All Be Kings”
Carlos Murillo, “dark play or stories for boys”


Martin Crimp, “The Misanthrope,” Andak Stage Company at New Place Studio Theater
Stephen Sachs, “Miss Julie,” Fountain Theater
Matt Walker, “Alice In One-Hit Wonderland,” Troubadour Theater Company at Falcon Theater


Brian Baker, “Winter Wonderettes,” El Portal Forum Theater
John Glaudini, “Altar Boyz,” Musical Theater West at Carpenter Performing Arts Center
David O, “13”
Gerald Sternbach, “On Your Toes,” Reprise! Broadway’s Best at UCLA Freud Playhouse


Tim Acito and Alexander Dinelaris, “Zanna, Don’t!”
Jason Robert Brown, “13”
Michael John LaChiusa, “Little Fish,” Blank Theater Company at 2nd Stage Theater


Christine Lakin & Paul Nygro, “Zanna, Don’t!”
Troy Magino, “Altar Boyz”
Lee Martino, “On Your Toes”
Janet Miller, “Winter Wonderettes”


Dennis Boutsikaris, “The Quality of Life”
Danny Calvert, “Zanna, Don’t!”
Gregory Itzin, “Shipwrecked: An Entertainment,” South Coast Repertory
Matt Letscher, “Anatol,” Pacific Resident Theater
Alan Mandell, “Trying”
Rebecca Marcotte, “Loyal Women,” Theater Banshee
Laurie Metcalf, “The Quality of Life”
Gabriel Olds, “Tryst,” Black Dahlia Theater
Deborah Puette, “Tryst”
Rex Smith, “The Pirates of Penzance,” Musical Theater West at Carpenter Performing Arts Center


Deanne Bray, “Sleeping Beauty Wakes”
Stephen Cell, “Small Tragedy,” Odyssey Theater Ensemble
Misty Cotton, “A Little Night Music,” South Coast Repertory
Adam Haas Hunter, “dark play or stories for boys”
Norman Large, “The Pirates of Penzance”
Shawn Lee, “An Impending Rupture of the Belly,” Furious Theater Company at Pasadena Playhouse Carrie Hamilton Theater
Kathleen Rose Perkins, “Love Loves a Pornographer”
JoBeth Williams, “The Quality of Life”


“13,” Mark Taper Forum
“Loyal Women,” Theater Banshee
“Waiting for Godot,” A Noise Within
“Winter Wonderettes,” El Portal Forum Theater
“Zanna, Don’t!,” West Coast Ensemble


Joel Daavid, “In Arabia We’d All Be Kings”
Robert G. Smith, “Bug,” Lost Angels Theater Company at Coast Playhouse
Gary Smoot, “Love Love’s A Pornographer”


Joel Daavid, “In Arabia We’d All be Kings”
Jeremy Pivnick, “Calling Aphrodite,” International City Theater
Steven Young, “Paradise Lost: Shadows and Wings,” Theater@Boston Court


Shon LeBlanc, “The Milk Train Doesn’t Stop Here Anymore”
Maggie Morgan, “Sleeping Beauty Wakes”
Paul Spadone, “Love Loves a Pornographer”


Lindsay Jones, “Bug”
Cricket Myers, “dark play or stories for boys”
Eric Snodgrass, “Sleeping Beauty Wakes”


Rick Lyon, “Avenue Q,” CTG, Ahmanson Theater


Six special awards will also be given. The 2007 special award recipients are as follows: 

The Margaret Harford Award for sustained excellence in theatre by an individual, company or theater: Musical Theatre West.

The Polly Warfield Award for an outstanding single season by a small to mid-sized theatre (sponsored by the Nederlander Organization): Theater Banshee.

The Ted Schmitt Award for outstanding world premiere play in Los Angeles (sponsored by Samuel French): Jane Anderson for “The Quality of Life.”

The Joel Hirschhorn Award for outstanding achievement in musical theatre: Jason Graae.

The Angstrom Award for career achievement in lighting design (sponsored by Angstrom Lighting): Leigh Allen.

A special award goes to Jon Maher for his long-term outstanding achievement as an ASL interpreter.

Filed Under:

Want to read more articles like this one? SUBSCRIBE TO VARIETY TODAY.
Post A Comment 0

Leave a Reply

No Comments

Comments are moderated. They may be edited for clarity and reprinting in whole or in part in Variety publications.

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

More Legit News from Variety