WGA West unveils board candidates

Tim Day, Katherine Fugate among candidates

The Writers Guild of America West has unveiled the candidates running for eight open seats on the guild’s board of directors.

These are the 19 contenders for the open spots on the board (order of listing determined by WGAW election rules): Aaron Mendelsohn, Mark Gunn, Howard Michael Gould, Tim Day, Timothy J. Lea, Bernard Lechowick, David A. Goodman, John F. Bowman, Kathy Kiernan, Aaron Solomon, Mick Betancourt, Karen Harris, Kat Smith, Howard Kuperberg, Kevin Droney, Ashley Gable, Dwayne Johnson-Cochran, Katherine Fugate and Luvh Rakhe.

Mendelsohn, Gunn, Goodman, Bowman and Kiernan are incumbent members running for another two-year term. Gould, Solomon, Gable and a number of the other frosh candidates played active roles in WGA’s Nov. 5-Feb. 12 strike.

Board member candidates may also be nominated by a petition with at least 25 member signatures. WGAW will host a “Candidates Night” town hall forum at the guild’s HQ on Sept. 3. Members will be able to vote by mail or at the WGA West’s annual membership meeting on Sept. 22.

WGAW’s board has a total of 19 members, including three officers, none of whom are up for re-election this year.

Filed Under:

Want to read more articles like this one? SUBSCRIBE TO VARIETY TODAY.
Post A Comment 0

Leave a Reply

No Comments

Comments are moderated. They may be edited for clarity and reprinting in whole or in part in Variety publications.

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

More Film News from Variety