Savannah fest to award Peter Bart

<i>Variety</i> editor-in-chief among honorees

Variety editor-in-chief Peter Bart, Malcolm McDowell and songwriters Alan and Marilyn Bergman will receive lifetime achievement awards at the Savannah Film Festival, which runs Oct. 25-Nov. 1.

Also at the fest, Bill Pullman will be honored with the award for outstanding achievement in cinema; his pic “Your Name Here” will screen in competition.

Bart will receive the lifetime achievement award in entertainment journalism. Previous winners include Roger Ebert and Charlie Rose.

McDowell’s film “Never Apologize,” about the late helmer Lindsay Anderson, will receive a gala screening followed by a special unspooling of “A Clockwork Orange.”

The Bergmans are best known for penning “The Way We Were.”

Other films skedded to screen at the fest include Palme d’Or winner “The Class,” Mike Leigh’s “Happy-Go-Lucky,” “Synecdoche, New York” and “Waltz With Bashir.”

The fest, hosted by the Savannah College of Art and Design, features the international student film competition, whose winner will receive a cash prize from HBO.

Want to read more articles like this one? SUBSCRIBE TO VARIETY TODAY.
Post A Comment 0

Leave a Reply

No Comments

Comments are moderated. They may be edited for clarity and reprinting in whole or in part in Variety publications.

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

More Film News from Variety