'Australia' filmmaker to receive Auteur Award

Filmmaker Baz Luhrmann will receive the International Press Academy’s 2008 Auteur Award for “Australia.” George Clooney, who was similarly recognized for his work in “Good Night, and Good Luck,” will present the honor at the 13th Annual Satellite Awards on December 14.

Other honorees at this year’s Satellite Awards include actor Louis Gossett, Jr., who will receive the 2008 Mary Pickford Award for Outstanding Contribution to the Entertainment Industry.

Veteran makeup man Rick Baker will also be recognized with the 2008 Tesla Award for Visionary Achievement in Filmmaking Technology. The honor will be presented by John Landis, who worked with Baker on Michael Jackson’s “Thriller” video.

Luhrmann received nine Satellite Awards nominations for “Australia,” which stars Nicole Kidman and Hugh Jackman. He previously won nine Satellite Awards for his 2001 film “Moulin Rouge!”

Filed Under:

Want to read more articles like this one? SUBSCRIBE TO VARIETY TODAY.
Post A Comment 0