Karlovy Vary sets main prize jury

Director Ivan Passer to preside over event

Helmer and film scholar Ivan Passer will preside over the main prize jury at the Karlovy Vary Film Festival.

Passer will be joined by thesp Brenda Blethyn, Israeli helmer Ari Folman, producer Ted Hope, Czech rocker Jan P. Muchow and Dutch thesp Johanna ter Steege.

Cinematography veteran Vilmos Zsigmond, who lensed Robert Altman’s “McCabe and Mrs. Miller,” will present the Altman film at the fest, which runs July 4-12 in the Western Bohemia spa town, and will hand off the Crystal Globe to the fest winner.

Former Karlovy Vary victor Petr Zelenka (“Year of the Devil”) will again rep his country in the main competish with his first adaptation, “The Karamazovs,” set in a Polish steel factory where the Dostoevsky work begins to take on a life of its own.

Want to read more articles like this one? SUBSCRIBE TO VARIETY TODAY.
Post A Comment 0

Leave a Reply

No Comments

Comments are moderated. They may be edited for clarity and reprinting in whole or in part in Variety publications.

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

More Film News from Variety