Mikhalkov, Kaige to receive Kurosawa Award

Helmers Nikita Mikhalkov and Chen Kaige will receive the Kurosawa Award for lifetime achievement at the Tokyo Film Festival.

Mikhalkov is best known for “Burnt by the Sun,” a 1994 drama set in the era of Stalinist purges that won the Grand Prix at Cannes and an Oscar for foreign language film. His latest is “Burnt by the Sun 2,” a two-film and 12-episode TV series project set for a 2010 bow.

Kaige first made his mark when his 1984 drama “Yellow Earth” won the Locarno fest’s Silver Leopard. His 1993 drama “Farewell My Concubine” was nommed for two Oscars and won the Cannes Palme d’Or. “Mei Langfang,” his biopic of the Chinese opera star, is set for a December bow in China.

The award was established to honor the memory of Japanese helmer Akira Kurosawa, who died in 1998. The fest runs Oct. 18-26.

Want to read more articles like this one? SUBSCRIBE TO VARIETY TODAY.
Post A Comment 0