Bardem gets in honorary Spirit

Actor to serve as chair for awards

Past Spirit winner Javier Bardem will serve as honorary chair of Film Independent’s 2008 Spirit Awards. The “No Country for Old Men” thesp, who won in 2001 for “Before Night Falls,” takes over from last year’s co-honorees Maggie Gyllenhaal and Terrence Howard.

More than two dozen presenters were also announced, including 2007 supporting male winner Alan Arkin and current Oscar nominees such as Ellen Page, Julian Schnabel and Tom Wilkinson.

“The Office’s” Rainn Wilson hosts the waterfront kudofest from under a tent on the Santa Monica beach Feb. 23, with a live telecast on IFC.

Filed Under:

Want to read more articles like this one? SUBSCRIBE TO VARIETY TODAY.
Post A Comment 0

Leave a Reply

No Comments

Comments are moderated. They may be edited for clarity and reprinting in whole or in part in Variety publications.

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

More Film News from Variety