ASCAP honors New Edition

Group given Golden Note Award

ASCAP will honor New Edition at its 21st annual Rhythm & Soul Music Awards June 23 in Los Angeles.

The six members of New Edition will be presented with the ASCAP Golden Note Award, which is given to songwriters, composers and artists who have achieved extraordinary career milestones. Gala will also honor ASCAP’s top songwriters and publishers of 2007.

Ricky Bell, Michael Bivins, Bobby Brown, Ralph Tresvant, Ronnie DeVoe and Johnny Gill are celebrating their 25th anniversary as a group. In the early 1980s, New Edition sold more units in the U.S. than any other teen singing group, and their success led to the creation of a series of late-’80s and ’90s boy bands. Their signature hits include “Popcorn Love,” “Cool It Now” and “Mr. Telephone Man.”

Want to read more articles like this one? SUBSCRIBE TO VARIETY TODAY.
Post A Comment 0


    Leave a Reply

    No Comments

    Comments are moderated. They may be edited for clarity and reprinting in whole or in part in Variety publications.

    Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

    You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

    Twitter picture

    You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

    Facebook photo

    You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

    Google+ photo

    You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

    Connecting to %s

    More Film News from Variety