ASCAP honors Jackson, McEntire

Berg named songwriter of the year

Alan Jackson won songwriter/artist of the year honors for his hits “A Woman’s Love” and “Small Town Southern Man” during the American Society of Composers, Authors and Publishers country awards Monday.

Other big winners were Dave Berg, songwriter of the year, and Rachel Thibodeau, country song of the year.

Reba McEntire won ASCAP’s Golden Note Award, presented to songwriters, composers and artists who have achieved extraordinary career milestones.

Brooks & Dunn, LeAnn Rimes and Kelly Clarkson honored McEntire by performing some of her songs. McEntire herself surprised the crowd by singing one of her earliest hits, “(You Lift Me) Up to Heaven.”

EMI Music Publishing won publisher of the year for songs including “How Long” (Eagles) and “Never Wanted Nothing More” (Kenny Chesney).

Songwriters including McEntire, Lyle Lovett, Buddy Miller, David Lee Murphy and Brent Rowan won the Silver Circle honor in recognition of 25 years or more of membership in the performance rights organization.

Filed Under:

Want to read more articles like this one? SUBSCRIBE TO VARIETY TODAY.
Post A Comment 0

Leave a Reply

No Comments

Comments are moderated. They may be edited for clarity and reprinting in whole or in part in Variety publications.

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

More Film News from Variety