Annette Bening joins Academy board

First-timer elected to represent actors branch

Annette Bening has made the Academy board.

Bening, elected to rep the actors branch, was among 14 voted to the board of governors, and the sole first-timer, the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences announced Monday.

Eight of the governors were re-elected to the board, including Robert Rehme representing execs, John Lasseter repping short films and feature animation and Kathleen Kennedy for producers.

Five of the remaining 14 had been elected at one point but had been off the board for at least one year, among them Martha Coolidge for directors, Arthur Hamilton for music and Don Hall for sound. Hall filled a seat left vacant by J. Paul Huntsman, who died earlier this year.

Fourteen of the 15 branches on the board are represented by three governors. Makeup is the only branch represented by just one governor.

Want to read more articles like this one? SUBSCRIBE TO VARIETY TODAY.
Post A Comment 0

Leave a Reply

No Comments

Comments are moderated. They may be edited for clarity and reprinting in whole or in part in Variety publications.

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

More Film News from Variety