AMPAS invites 105 to join its ranks

Academy offers membership to Apatow, Cody

The Academy of Motion Pictures Arts & Sciences has invited 105 individuals to join the organization, including several of this year’s Oscar winners, such as Marion Cotillard and Diablo Cody; past nominees including Sacha Baron Cohen; and longtime industry vets, including scripter Jean-Claude Carriere and HBO docu chief Sheila Nevins (invited to join the at-large branch).

Also invited from this year’s Oscars: winners including Philippe Pollet-Villard (live-action short subject) and Didier Lavergne (makeup, “La Vie en rose) plus nominees Ruby Dee, Jason Reitman, Tamara Jenkins and Nancy Oliver.

Also among the 105 are Jet Li, Judd Apatow, execs Sidney Kimmel and Jeff Skoll; foreign-language helmers Sergei Bodrov, Michael Haneke and Walter Salles; and U.S. helmers James Gray, Doug Liman, Kimberly Peirce, Peyton Reed and Gore Verbinski.

The invitations are not automatic inductions. The individual must accept the invitation in order to become a member (most accept; a few decline, and some fail to respond within the proper time frame).

To slow the org’s growth rate, the Acad adopted a policy in 2004 to allow a maximum of 137 members to be inducted annually. As in previous years, the various committees chose to endorse fewer candidates than were proposed.

Each committee has its own standards when picking members. The Academy said that a past nomination or win is not a guarantee of an invitation but is certainly a factor for consideration.

“These individuals are all incredibly talented and a credit to the world of filmmaking,” said Sid Ganis, academy president. The academy has just under 6,000 voting members.

The complete list of invitees:

Sacha Baron Cohen
Josh Brolin
Marion Cotillard
Ruby Dee
Allison Janney
Jet Li
Ray Winstone

David Bowers
Ash Brannon
Doug Cooper
Jeremy Lasky
Caroline Leaf
David Schaub
David Silverman
Suzie Templeton

Jim Houston
Neil Machlis
Sheila Nevins

Casting Directors
Ronna Kress

Jonathan W. Brown
Clark Mathis
Kramer Morgenthau
J. Michael Muro
Tim Orr
Tom Richmond

Costume Designers
Isis Mussenden

Sergei Bodrov
James Gray
Michael Haneke
Doug Liman
Kimberly Peirce
Peyton Reed
Jason Reitman
Walter Salles
Gore Verbinski

Nanette Burstein
Heidi Ewing
Liz Garbus
Michele Ohayon
Deborah Shaffer

Alan Bergman
Dana Goldberg
Sidney Kimmel
Chris S. LeRoy
Andrew Rona
Jeff Skoll

Film Editors
Barry Alexander Brown
John Carnochan
John Gilroy
Mark Livolsi
Dylan Tichenor
Juliette Welfling

Live Action Short Films
Philippe Pollet-Villard

Jan Archibald
Kate Biscoe
Didier Lavergne
Christien Tinsley

Glen Ballard
J. J. George
Michael Giacchino

Armyan Bernstein
Jennifer Fox
Lianne Halfon
Hal Lieberman
Andrew Macdonald
Karen Murphy
Peter R. Newman
JoAnne Sellar

Production Designers
Jack Fisk
Clayton R. Hartley

Public Relations
Stephanie Allen
Suzanne Fritz
Kevin Goetz
Stephanie Kluft
Tim Palen
Marc Weinstock

Set Decorators
Larry Dias
Katie Spencer
Sandy Reynolds Wasco

Craig Berkey
Fernando Camara
David Giammarco
Mike Hopkins
Robert J. Kizer
Alyson Dee Moore
Mark Onks
Jon Taylor

Stunt Coordinators
Melissa R. Stubbs

Visual Effects
Nick Davis
Brian Gernand
Dan Glass
Bryan Grill
Edward T. Hirsh
Helena Packer
Kelly Port
Ted Rae
Doug Roble
Carey Villegas

Judd Apatow
David Benioff
Jean-Claude Carriere
Diablo Cody
Tamara Jenkins
Jeff Nathanson
Nancy Oliver

Filed Under:

Want to read more articles like this one? SUBSCRIBE TO VARIETY TODAY.
Post A Comment 0

Leave a Reply

No Comments

Comments are moderated. They may be edited for clarity and reprinting in whole or in part in Variety publications.

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

More Film News from Variety