'Frozen River' will open 37th annual festival

Sundance grand jury prize winner “Frozen River” will open the 37th annual New Directors/New Films, running March 26-April 6 in Gotham.

The rural drama directed by Courtney Hunt is just one of several Sundance winners in the fest; Lance Hammer’s “Ballast” and Alex Rivera’s “Sleep Dealer” which won directing and screenwriting awards, respectively, also are in the lineup.

On the nonfiction end, Tia Lessin and Carl Deal’s Hurricane Katrina doc “Trouble the Water” will unspool, fresh off its Sundance grand jury win.

A total of 26 films and seven shorts from 17 countries will screen.

The HBO Films Roundtable will focus on ND/NF alums who have forged careers outside the mainstream. Panelists will include Tamara Jenkins (“The Savages”), Michael Almereyda (“Another Girl, Another Planet”) and Jim McKay (“Our Song”).

Presented by the Film Society of Lincoln Center and the Museum of Modern Art, the fest has become a respected platform for new talent. Previous editions have helped launch the careers of Pedro Almodovar, Guillermo del Toro, Spike Lee, Sally Potter and John Sayles.

The fest is curated by a combined team from both institutions, including Jytte Jensen, Laurence Kardish, Marian Masone, Joanna Ney, Richard Pena and Rajendra Roy.


“Frozen River,” Courtney Hunt (US)

“Ballast,” Lance Hammer (US)

“Correction,” Thanos Anastopoulos (Greece)

“Eat, for This Is My Body,” Michelange Quay (Haiti/France)

“Epitaph,” Jung Bum-Sik and Jung Sik (South Korea)

“Falling From Earth,” Chadi Zeneddine (Lebanon/France)
“Cinema Mundial (1958-2007),” Carles Ascensio (Spain)

“Foster Child,” Brillante Mendoza (Philippines)
“The Wind’s Stories,” Javier Beltran Ramos (Venezuela)

“La France,” Serge Bozon (France)

“Japan Japan,” Lior Shamriz (Israel)
“Camels Drink Water,” Nathalie Djurberg (U.S.)

“Jellyfish,” Etgar Keret and Shira Geffen (Israel/France)

“A Lost Man,” Danielle Arbid (Lebanon/France)

“Megane,” Naoko Ogigami (Japan)

“Momma’s Man,” Azazel Jacobs (US)

“Moving Midway,” Godfrey Cheshire (U.S.)

“Munyurangabo,” Lee Isaac Chung (U.S./Rwanda)

“Sleep Dealer,” Alex Rivera (U.S./Mexico)

“Slingshot Hip Hop,” Jackie Reem Salloum (U.S.)

“Soul Carriage,” Conrad Clark (China/U.K.)

“The Toe Tactic,” Emily Hubley (U.S.)

“Trouble the Water,” Tia Lessin and Carl Deal (U.S.)

“Valse Sentimentale,” Constantina Voulgaris (Greece)

“Water Lilies,” Celine Sciamma (France)
“Man,” Myna Joseph (U.S.)

“We Went to Wonderland,” Xiaolu Guo (U.K.)
“Flotsam Jetsam,” Patty Chang and David Kelley (U.S.)

“Wonderful Town,” Aditya Assarat (Thailand)

“XXY,” Lucia Puenzo (Argentina/Spain/France)

“La Zona,” Rodrigo Pla (Spain/Mexico)

Want to read more articles like this one? SUBSCRIBE TO VARIETY TODAY.
Post A Comment 0