Goldwyn winners named at UCLA

Formato takes first place for 'Help'

UCLA’s Samuel Goldwyn writing award winners were announced Monday, with Austin Formato taking first place for his screenplay “Self Help.”

Formato’s award includes a $15,000 prize. Second place (and $7,500) went to Robyn Paris for “Odd Man Out,” while third place was a tie between J.J. Nelson for “Out of Road” and Richard Rapoza for “The Hole in the Brain of Phineas Gage.” Suzie Bohannon received an honorable mention for “Spin Cycle.”

The script-writing contest, the results of which were announced by Samuel Goldwyn Jr. at UCLA, was judged by Sundance fest director Geoff Gilmore, Fox Atomic prexy of production Debbie Liebling and actress-producer Marlee Matlin.

Founded 53 years ago to encourage young writers, the competition has recognized filmmakers including Francis Ford Coppola, Colin Higgins and Allison Anders.

Want to read more articles like this one? SUBSCRIBE TO VARIETY TODAY.
Post A Comment 0

Leave a Reply

No Comments

Comments are moderated. They may be edited for clarity and reprinting in whole or in part in Variety publications.

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

More Film News from Variety