Leopard of Honor: Amos Gitai

Israeli filmmaker Amos Gitai will travel to the lago to accept the Leopard of Honor, given to a major director who is still making movies. Several of Gitai’s films will be shown during the festival to mark the occasion, including 2008’s “Plus tard tu comprendras” on the Piazza Grande, 1998’s “Yom Yom,” 1999’s “Kadosh” and 2006’s “News From Home.” A conversation with the filmmakers will take place at the Forum on Aug. 8.

Past winners include Jacques Rivette, Manoel de Oliveira, Samuel Fuller, Jean-Luc Godard, Bernardo Bertolucci, Joe Dante, Daniel Schmid, Ken Loach, Ermanno Olmi, Terry Gilliam, Abbas Kiarostami, Wim Wenders, Alexander Sokurov and, in 2007, Hou Hsiao Hsien.

The Raimondo Rezzonico Prize: Christine Vachon

Christine Vachon — whose name is practically synonymous with independent film — is slated for the producer award, the Raimondo Rezzonico Prize. Her banner Killer Films has backed several of Todd Haynes’ films, launched the careers of such helmers as Larry Clark and John Cameron Mitchell, and often produced some of the edgiest U.S. indie pics in the last two decades, such as Todd Solondz’s “Happiness” and Kim Pierce’s “Boys Don’t Cry.”

Haynes’ “Safe” will be unspooled at the fest.

Want to read more articles like this one? SUBSCRIBE TO VARIETY TODAY.
Post A Comment 0