Columbia festival to honor 'Stop-Loss' director

“Stop-Loss” and “Boys Don’t Cry” helmer Kimberly Peirce will receive the Andrew Sarris Award during the Columbia U. Film Festival on May 9 at the McGraw-Hill Theater.

Nod, named for critic and film professor Andrew Sarris, honors service and artistic achievement of Columbia U. alums. Sarris award recipients are selected by the school’s film students.

Peirce said she’s happy to receive the kudo from “students who are in the same position I was in just a few years ago.”

Peirce graduated from Columbia U. School of the Arts’ film division in 1996.

Want to read more articles like this one? SUBSCRIBE TO VARIETY TODAY.
Post A Comment 0