D.C.'s annual celebration lauds legends

Barbra Streisand is the first female director to receive a Kennedy Center Honor, but she’s not the first actor-director. Clint Eastwood, Warren Beatty and Robert Redford preceded her. George Jones’ inclusion is the latest in a number of country music legends, beginning with Roy Acuff in 1991. Martha Graham was the first female choreographer to be awarded, in 1979; Twyla Tharp is the latest, in 2008. Not until 1995, with Sidney Poitier, was an African-American actor honored. Morgan Freeman follows this year, preceded recently by Ossie Davis and Ruby Dee. Which means that Pete Townshend and Roger Daltrey are not the first dual honorees. Alan Jay Lerner and Frederick Loewe kicked off that duo trend in 1985.

Tip Sheet
What: 31st annual Kennedy Center Honors
When: Dec. 7
Where: Kennedy Center Opera House, Washington, D.C.
Telecast: Dec. 30,
9-11p.m., CBS

Want to read more articles like this one? SUBSCRIBE TO VARIETY TODAY.
Post A Comment 0