Festival has long legacy of illustrious presidents

Maybe all democracies should have Cannes pick their presidents. It’s hard to imagine a coup being staged against this illustrious group, which ranges from Jean Cocteau to Sophia Loren to Ingrid Bergman to Wong KarWai to this year’s prexy, Stephen Frears. Frears leads a typically eclectic jury of artists from every medium: Italian helmer Marco Bellocchio; actresses Maggie Cheung, Toni Collette and Maria de Medeiros; Gallic thesp Michel Piccoli, Canadian Sarah Polley, who’s also taken up the helming reins with “Away From Her”; Mauritanian director Abderrahmane Sissako; and Nobel Prize winning Turkish novelist Orhan Pamuk.


2006 Wong Kar Wai, director

2005 Emir Kusturica, director

2004 Quentin Tarantino, director

2003 Patrice Chereau, director

2002 David Lynch, director

2001 Liv Ullmann, actress

2000 Luc Besson, director

1999 David Cronenberg, director

1998 Martin Scorsese, director

1997 Isabelle Adjani, actress

1996 Francis Ford Coppola, director

1995 Jeanne Moreau, actress

1994 Clint Eastwood, director

1993 Louis Malle, director

1992 Gerard Depardieu, actor

1991 Roman Polanski, director

1990 Bernardo Bertolucci, director

1989 Wim Wenders, director

1988 Ettore Scola, director

1987 Yves Montand, actor

1986 Sydney Pollack, director

1985 Milos Forman, director

1984 Dirk Bogarde, actor

1983 William Styron, author

1982 Giorgio Strehler, artist

1981 Jacques Deray, director

1980 Kirk Douglas, actor

1979 Francoise Sagan, author

1978 Alan J. Pakula, director

1977 Roberto Rossellini, director

1976 Tennessee Williams, author

1975 Jeanne Moreau, actress

1974 Rene Clair, director

1973 Ingrid Bergman, actress

1972 Joseph Losey, director

1971 Michele Morgan, actress

1970 Miguel Angel Asturias, author

1969 Luchino Visconti, director

1968 Andre Chamson, author

1967 Alessandro Blasetti, director

1966 Sophia Loren, actress

1965 Olivia de Havilland, actress

1964 Fritz Lang, director

1963 Armand Salacrou, author

1962 Tetsuro Furukaki, author

1961 Jean Giono, author

1960 Georges Simenon, author

1959 Marcel Achard, author

1958 Marcel Achard

1957 Andre Maurois, author

1956 Maurice Lehmann, director

1955 Marcel Pagnol, author

1954 Jean Cocteau, director

1953 Jean Cocteau

1952 Maurice Genevoix, author

1951 Andre Maurois, author

1949 Georges Huisman, historian

1947 Georges Huisman

1946 Georges Huisman

Want to read more articles like this one? SUBSCRIBE TO VARIETY TODAY.
Post A Comment 0