Bacharach, Day earn lifetime achievement nods

The Recording Academy has selected eight artists, two executives, a tech wizard and a tape recording manufacturer to receive the honorary Grammys at February’s ceremony.

Lifetime achievement awards will go to composer Burt Bacharach, the Band, bandleader Cab Calloway, singer Doris Day, violinist Itzhak Perlman, the late drummer Max Roach and bluegrass banjo pioneer Earl Scruggs.

Clarence Avant, who ran Sussex Records and then Motown; Elektra Records founder Jac Holzman; and Memphis producer Willie Mitchell will be honored with the Academy’s Trustees Award.

AMPEX Corp. and the late recording expert John Eargle will receive the Technical Grammy Award.

A special ceremony will be held Feb. 9, the day before the 50th annual Grammy Awards telecast.

Want to read more articles like this one? SUBSCRIBE TO VARIETY TODAY.
Post A Comment 0