WGA honors ‘SNL’ creator

Michaels to receive Herb Sargent Award

The Writers Guild of America East has selected “Saturday Night Live” creator and exec producer Lorne Michaels to receive its Herb Sargent Award for Comedy Excellence.

Nod will be presented at the 59th annual WGA awards Feb. 11 in New York. James Brooks won the inaugural Sargent award last year.

Michaels has won 10 Emmys and picked up the Mark Twain Prize in 2004 at the Kennedy Center. He worked extensively with Sargent, who served as a writer-producer on “SNL” for over 20 years.

Michaels is also exec producer of “30 Rock” and “Late Night With Conan O’Brien.”

Michaels’ feature credits include “Mean Girls” and “Wayne’s World.”

Filed Under:

Want to read more articles like this one? SUBSCRIBE TO VARIETY TODAY.
Post A Comment 0

Leave a Reply

No Comments

Comments are moderated. They may be edited for clarity and reprinting in whole or in part in Variety publications.

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

More Film News from Variety