Cuaron drama wins 19th annual Scripter award

The USC Libraries have selected “Children of Men” as the winner of the 19th annual Scripter award.

The kudo, to be presented Feb. 18 in a ceremony at USC’s Edward L. Doheny Jr. Memorial Library, will honor British writer P.D. James — who published the book in 1992 — and screenwriters Alfonso Cuaron, Timothy J. Sexton, David Arata, Mark Fergus and Hawk Ostby for their adaptation.

The selection committee, led by USC School of Cinematic Arts writing division chair Howard A. Rodman, chose “Children of Men” from a field of 45 eligible films released in 2006. The other finalists were “The Devil Wears Prada,” “The Illusionist,” “The Last King of Scotland” and “Notes on a Scandal.”

“This year’s five nominated films were, all of them, heartfelt and elegantly wrought,” Rodman said. “In that heady company, ‘Children of Men’ was first among equals. This is writing and screenwriting of the highest order.”

Want to read more articles like this one? SUBSCRIBE TO VARIETY TODAY.
Post A Comment 0